Crunchy Maple & Spice Granola

When deciding on my meals and snacks, I have three major goals.

  1. I like for my food to be healthy and as free from chemicals and preservatives as I can make it.
  2. I like to be as self-sufficient as possible, making whatever I can from scratch.
  3. Cost is a major factor for my tiny family so I need to keep everything budget friendly.

Often all three goals aren’t met with my food. However, I occasionally get lucky like I do with one of my favorite homemade snacks, granola!

dscf0327-copy

It’s so simple to make and makes a decent amount. I like to store mine in small containers so it’s easy to grab and go, or even to quickly mix into yogurt or cereal.

Here’s what you need:

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (honey works as a substitution)

In a mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients and then add wet ingredients until evenly mixed. Spread the mixture out onto a parchment paper covered baking sheet. Bake for one hour at 250 degrees (F).

Allow to cool to room temperature before storing. That’s it. That’s all there is to it.

dscf0326

+20 to Cooking!

One thought on “Crunchy Maple & Spice Granola

  1. Pingback: Banana Oatmeal Muffins | The Nerd Wife's Life

Leave a Reply

