A week of setbacks

My husband hasn’t spent more than two nights in our new home since we moved in a month ago. I’ve been anxiously waiting for him to come back from his business trip, only to learn about a week ago that he’ll be spending five weeks in the mid-west rather than four. So, yeah, he hasn’t even come home yet despite his flight being scheduled for last Saturday.

My heart is a little bit broken.

However, I started to try to think positive thoughts that maybe the workers would be done with the ceiling before he finally came home. That way he wouldn’t have to come home to a construction site and they wouldn’t keep him awake if he ended up back on night shift.

And then all the air was blown out of my balloon of optimism when the man who was supposed to come work on the ceiling starting Monday delayed me until Wednesday. I’ve been here for a month and haven’t been able to start work onΒ anything because I’ve been anxiously awaiting this to be finished.

In the meantime, I’ve been prepping the walls to be painted, trying to get all the materials I will need together, and have been stalking the stores to find things to decorate the space with.

So while my home is barren and sad (with cats being weird stalkers), I’ve been looking at my cute little finds. My favorite is a large trunk. The outside has been painted so I can’t find any maker marks or brands, but the inside has all the original paper. I also found a clipping from a newspaper of the date September 12, 1919!

20170130_082017

At the same antique store, I found some darling silhouette pictures. I haven’t decided which room I’ll put them in, but I fell in love with them as soon as I saw them.

20170201_100441

Another favorite find was this creepy unicorn. I’ve never seen anything like it and my macabre side was drawn to this cutie!

20170201_100431

On the softer side of my decorations, I found this lovely tray depicting a farm scene. I think I’m going to hang this in the dining room, where there will be light sage colored walls.

20170201_100810

We also had an amazing run at Goodwill! I found a lot of things that I’ll repaint or refinish to match my colors. Somethings I just couldn’t turn down such as this wooden Christmas tree for only 99 cents!

20170201_100751

Now to be able to get everything out of the piles of furniture in my back rooms and actually decorate with them….

Leave a Reply

