When it rains, it pours

Rainy days make me want to stay in bed and never get up. Today is the epitome of the “I want to go back to bed” rainy day feeling.

I woke up to this:

Two rooms flooded by the heavy rain. The breakfast nook and the storage room both had water glaring back at me, and not all of it was my tears. And of course the storage room’s bulb (which can’t be turned off) went out a couple days before I need to have someone come in and see the damage.

But the good news is, the fellow is who going to fix that saggy wall called and said he was going to come by. I was planning on calling him to schedule a time he can come look at the new-to-me leak, so it saved me a call! I hurriedly moved everything in the breakfast nook away from the wall he’d be working on, and in the process I was finally able to get a good look at the door hiding behind the white hutch.

20170123_105024

Sorry for the blur….I was probably mid-move as I went on to the next project. The lighting in the room changed dramatically, even with the rain outside, once I uncovered the door and took the moldy curtain off of it. I can’t use the door due to it being nailed shut and sealed by mud on the outside so I’m considering asking for a window to be installed and this door to be hung between the master bedroom and the office/nursery.

There’s good news about the wall that I’m very excited about. Originally, it was suggested that the wall would have to be removed completely. However now that it’s been looked into (pun not originally intended, but I love it) by tearing a bit off and peaking at what’s inside, we now know that it’sΒ notΒ completely wood. They’ll still have to dig out the dirt behind it and allow the cinder-blocks to dry out, but once that’s done they’ll only need to use sealant on it and the wall to the storage area.

Oh, and I was on point in regards to the ceiling repair man not making it on Thursday. He’s delayed it until Monday, which will be great for Mister not to have to come home to a construction site! However, I’ve already made great progress packing away everything I can carry (and even some things that I can’t) to the back part of the house.

For now, I’m left with no coffee table, dining room chairs hidden about the house, and part of my wall ripped off.

20170123_152633

3 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours

  1. Pingback: I could be making a very bad decision | The Nerd Wife's Life

  2. Not many people know this but a lot of roof leaks can start just by having blocked gutters, they overflow and allow water into the roof, or water isn’t allowed to drain properly and then makes it’s way inside. It may be worth checking to see if this has caused the problem, if so it could save you a lot of money in the future.

    Rachel. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

