You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)

I finally got my hands on a copy of Felicia Day’s memoir, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost), and man have I got something to say. Maybe that shouldn’t be how I start this? It sounds a little aggressive, doesn’t it? But I do have something to say…that’s why I’m writing the review.

Anyone who knows me or has been following this site for a little while knows I’m a tiny bit of a little smidgen of a huge fan of her. It’s bordering idolization. Okay, it’s actually beyond the border and falling on its face after smacking into the wall on the other side of idolization. All this rambling is my way of saying that this may be a biased review. In all honesty if I were to ignore the author, I still would find this book funny, insightful, and well written.

Within the first chapter, Felicia day warns her readers that her book is full of coffee-cup-worthy-mantras, and she’s not even exaggerating.

“Knowing yourself is life’s eternal homework.” – Felicia Day

And as someone who was very proud of her GPA in high school, being dumbfounded about homework is more than frustrating. Oh, you think I’m talking about Day? Nope. Turns out there’s a few things I have in common with here, and bragging about GPAs is the tip of the iceberg.

A large portion of the book was focused around how she made The Guild happen. One chapter touched on the fact that she built the sets from the ground up on favors and trash. Saying that this spoke to me is an understatement. When I decorated my wedding, I opted for sticks pulled out of the nearby woods and beer bottles soaked in acid to remove the labels—which my mother promptly trashed “accidentally”. I still believe it was a conspiracy so she could be me legitimate vases. With the dress bought and the decorations scavenged, the whole shindig only cost a couple thousand.

She spoke about how long it took her to actually sit down and write The Guild. At the time of reading her book, not only was I still neck deep in writing my novel (I feel as if I’ll never be done with that damned thing) but I was also procrastinating sending out more job applications for writing positions. Her words inspired (or shamed) me into putting down her book and getting back to work. I may not be done with my novel but the extra zest in which I sent out applications came back rewarded.

Towards the end of her book, Day speaks about dealing with mental illness and being pushed to the point of actually losing her memory. I’ve spoken about both mental illness and memory issues before, so needless to say her worlds rang familiar to me. She continued on to describe how the social stigma slapped onto mental health affected her and slowed her road to recovery. Specifically she states, “My mental problems made me feel ashamed. I felt like I had to hide them until I could ‘work through it’ on my own.”

You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) allowed me a personal view of the Nerd Queen, Felicia Day. I always viewed her as relatable and the ideal progressive woman. Reading her memoir only magnified that view and caused me to idolize her even more.

“I hope all my copious oversharing encourages someone to stop, drop, and do something that’s always scared them.” – Felicia Day

51xfbto2iol-_sx323_bo1204203200_

via Amazon

2 thoughts on “You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost)

  1. Pingback: A Day in the Life of a Nerd Wife | The Nerd Wife's Life

Leave a Reply

