My Acne Woes

I began dealing with acne before I was even a teenager. I’m talking about the whole forehead, all around the mouth, full chin, neck, chest, and back sort of acne. And the biggest lie I was ever told after Santa Claus was that my acne would go away once I was older.

Lies. All of them.

As an adult, every acne treatment I tried made my combination skin break out worse, extremely dry in some places, and very greasy in others. My breaking point came when I was chosen for an Influenster Clear Proof Voxbox. I was already fed up with my complexion and the four piece Clear Proof kit only exacerbated the issues.

Here are the before picture and the four weeks later photo.

Between the increased dryness and the deep, painful cystic acne, my skin completely rebelled from Clear Proof – which, of course, it seemed as if no one else in the program had the same issue. After the trial, my skin had more scars and a less even complexion.

I wasn’t going to live with hating my face any longer. I took a long look at my skin products and had an epiphany. The common denominator was so obvious, how had I not thought of it sooner? Chemicals. I was slathering chemicals deep into my skin and wondering why my skin wasn’t happy.

Thus began the research into natural acne treatments. I had to wade through a lot of things that were 1) fake, 2) far too harsh, and 3) not for my skin type. Finally, I was able to configure a dynamic skin routine that changed w

ith the seasons like my skin type does.

best o t best

First, the only time I will use store bought face wash is when my skin has become very oily and/or I have on a camera-ready look (for those who don’t know, you have to cake on the makeup for the camera). I exclusively use Clean & Clear Oil Free Morning Burst cleanser. Also, in the winter my skin dries out to the point that it is constantly flaky. During this time, I trust only Clean & Clear Oil Free Dual Action moisturizer. Beyond these two products, everything I use to cleanse and care for my skin (up until the point of applying makeup) is more natural.

When I do not need to use the Morning Burst cleanser, I have three different cleansing methods. The first and most common is witch hazel. You can buy it nearly anywhere that sells health and beauty products. It is very easy on my sensitive skin, cleanses the oil without stripping off too much, and penetrates deeply to treat acne. The second technique I use is an apple cider vinegar and water mixture. You use just a splash of the vinegar and a considerable amount more of the water. It works great for surface dirt and oil and whiteheads. However, be very careful because vinegar can dry out your skin. Be sure to moisturize! The third item I use I can only use during the spring and beginning part of the summer due to the fact that it uses foraged items that are only available at the time. It’s called Persephone’s flower tonic and uses chickweed, dandelions, wild violets, and plantain as well as rose water, apple cider vinegar, and witch hazel. I’m a huge fan of natural medicine and foraged healthcare but always do your research and be 100% sure of what you’re putting in or on your body.

During the times of the year that my skin isn’t peeling like a snake, I opt for just a dab of coconut oil over my face. It doesn’t take much and feels light on your skin.

Spot treatment, or simply a direct treatment of acne is general, is where my research became tricky. I went through months of tests to find recipes that would actually help to dry out whiteheads, treat deep cystic acne, would not dry out the surrounding skin, and wouldn’t clog my pores any worse. It was rough going there for awhile. Finally, I found (and then tweaked) the perfect spot treatment. I use this cinnamon and turmeric mixture and add a dash of nutmeg into it. It burns. It itches. It works.

DSC_0031 (2)

Only a little bit of makeup goes a long way now!

I hope this article helps to open your eyes to a whole new word of natural acne treatments. If you’d like to see what else I’m researching in the world of all-natural, check out my Pinterest board for Natural Recipes for a Healthy Body and Home.

If you’d like to read more about my experience with Clear Proof, you can read the original article here.

You can learn more about Influenster by clicking on the button below:

One thought on “My Acne Woes

  1. Pingback: GlamVoxBox Reviews | The Nerd Wife's Life

Leave a Reply

