Little Things to Help Cope with Depression

  1. Stretch. Take between one and five minutes to stretch out. It’s simple, low impact movement that will make it easier to move around.
  2. Remember that a little workout is better than no workout. If you feel like your muscles couldn’t take more than a few minutes of aerobic exercise or a few reps of your favorite move, then simply do what you can. Slowly you may be able to do more. Exercise releases endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. And happy people have less severe bouts of depression.
  3. Find a healthy outlet. I dabble in art, but it’s different for everyone.
  4. Give yourself a spritz of perfume. Even if you’re only sitting at home in your pajamas. Actually, especially when you’re only sitting at home in your pajamas.
  5. Have ready-to-eat food. Pre-make bottles of powdered meal replacements. Load up on Lean Cuisine.  If you can tell when you’re about to have a bad few days, make a few extra meals and freeze them. The healthier you can get, the better. But remember that the occasional food preserved with chemicals is better than skipping meals.
  6. Stop saying that you’re “trying”. One of my favorite things that my husband has suggested for me to deal with my depression and other disorders is to stop saying that I’m “trying as hard as I can”.  Instead, say what I’m doing rather than what I’m trying to do. I’m doing these things to get better. If I do it, then I’ll succeed.
Leave a Reply

