I WILL Get Published

I don’t keep it a secret that I’m not too fond of the idea of New Year’s resolutions. However, I may have accidentally and coincidentally created another for myself in addition to keeping a better photo and video record of my life in 2016.

I will get published.

Thus far into my life, I’ve gotten an article or two into a book here or up on a site there but I’ve never been paid for my writing work. I’ve come close, but no tomato. Is that a saying? I think I said that wrong…

Now I’m thinking about Sally Tomato from Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Totally distracted. Where was I? Oh, yes. I was trying to sell myself as a writer.

I spent over six months once creating and moderating content for a Skyrim mod – a huge, lore-rich, visually striking, quest filled mod. However the lead builder and head of the entire project fell off the face of the planet without a single word to myself or the rest of the team. I’m honestly afraid I’ll see my work floating out there in a mod without my consent, any financial retribution, or even any credit to me as an author. On the other hand, I’m also afraid to go to another mod creator with the content I created in case the previous projects resurfaces. I feel as if I ultimately lost hours upon hours of great work.

In the recent years, every article of pride I’ve written has been self-published on a blog, in social media, or on Fanfiction– I’m very careful as to who I’ll give the username to for this last one due to the subject content of my work there. Some of my favorite articles on my previous blog were those written about shop owners on sites like Etsy and Storenvy, particularly one written about A Cup of Nostalgia.

I’m currently working on several pieces of literature. A few different novels and some game concepts. The top of my to-do list is a fantasy novel with the working title The Redwood Throne. I don’t believe I will finish this one for a few more years, but I’m hoping to make a major dent in it and finish a shorter book or two in the mean time. As of right now, my intention with these shorter books is to publish them on Amazon as ebooks but that idea could change as I learn more about the pros and cons.

As far as the video game story lines, they’re being written for the husband’s work and would be years before they get completely fleshed, animated, voiced, and released.

I’m tinkering with the idea of keeping myself to this goal by tracking my daily word count between all of my writing projects. If I were to do this, I’d post them in some form at the end of every month to track my progress. I’m also – even though I say it every year and never do it – going to do Nanowrimo. No seriously. Even if I don’t actually finish a whole novel in a month, I’m going to at least be serious about participating this year.

This is my plan of action. These are my short-term goals to help me achieve my long-term goals. I’ve got this glitch!

One thought on “I WILL Get Published

  1. Pingback: Desperation = Published Writer | The Nerd Wife's Life

Leave a Reply

